The Builders Awards Five Scholarships to YSU Construction Students

Five Youngstown State University students were awarded scholarships last evening from The Builders Association of Eastern Ohio and Western Pennsylvania (The Builders) at the Association’s Annual Meeting.

The Builders has awarded scholarships to YSU students since 1971, selecting deserving men and women each year who demonstrate that they are excelling in the school’s construction-related programs. Including this year’s group of recipients, The Builders has awarded $150,210.

$2,000 Builders Scholarship recipients are:
  • Seth McMillan, a sophomore from Boardman, OH
  • Gage Michael, a sophomore from Union City, PA
  • Sydney DeMarco, a junior from Hubbard, Ohio
  • Kayle Zurcher, a senior from Monaca, PA
$2,000 Jack Gibson Memorial Scholarship recipient:
  • Brett Cash, a senior from Columbiana, OH
The Builders has already allocated money in their 2015 budget to fund this program again next year.

Announcing the awards was incoming Builders Association President Howard Agueda of VEC Inc.  Additional committee members are Chairman Paul Johnson, President of Adolph Johnson & Son, and Brian Downie of Alex Downie & Sons Co.