Two YSU Students Register Back-to-Back Victories as part of the annual Builders Association Estimating Competition

Being on the winning team of the annual Builders Association Estimating Competition is a great honor, and illustrates the ability to successfully navigate through a rigorous test of construction leadership and technical estimating skills. But, for two members of this year’s winning team – placing first is familiar territory, because they won last year, too.

Congratulations to back-to-back winners, JoLynn Campbell (Sr./Youngstown, OH) and Andrew Rauch (Jr./Sharon, PA), as well as their fellow teammates Ryan Fry (Sr./Bellaire, OH), Noah Sturgeon, (Jr./Lisbon, OH) and Joe Billec, (Jr./Canfield, OH) and William Spencer, (So./Youngstown, OH).  The team was mentored by Jason Gibson, of Jack Gibson Construction.

Campbell, Rauch, and their team competed against two other teams - all of whom are YSU Civil and Construction Engineering Technology students - in creating a bid package for an O’Reilly Auto Parts building project. The actual project was completed by Builders Association member, DeSalvo Construction Corp.

The teams were tasked with creating and submitting a written proposal by a 3:00 p.m. after getting the information at 8 a.m. The material included the proposal form, a performance and payment bond, a specifications quiz, and a written schedule. Their tasks included performing take-offs by analyzing plans and specs, arriving at pricing for unit cost work, and reviewing sub and material quote sheets for use in the bid.

The teams then had to provide a presentation to the judges. There they identified each team member’s role during the bidding exercise, described their approach to bidding the project (including quote analysis), and reviewed their proposed schedule.

Scoring is based on the completeness, organization and accuracy of the bid, the sequence and length of the schedule, and other elements such as subcontractor analysis, line item variance and labor productivity. The interview process is scored according to team participation, presentation and terminology. Then, even more considerations, including which team literally came closest to the actual estimate, are all reviewed and scored. The team with the most points wins.

In addition to the winning team, congratulations to all of the student participants for their hard work:

Sr. Aaron Robbins, Pittsburgh, PA

Sr. Collin Pope, Lowellville, OH

Sr. Alan Slavic, Struthers, OH

Sr. Ken Kopp, Struthers, OH

Sr. Dave Spay, Warren, OH

Sr. Stephen Brown, Boardman, OH

Sr. Hope Hrabowy, Youngstown, OH

Sr. Levi Laird, Boardman, OH

Sr. Jake Marquis, East Palestine, OH

Jr. Kara Weeks, Youngstown, OH

Jr. Christopher Metzinger, Youngstown, OH

Jr. Anthony Musitano, Bessemer, PA

Jr. Adam Smith, Youngstown, OH

So. Albert Yates, McDonald, OH

So. Curtis Moses, Youngstown, OH

So. Drew Belan, Kent, OH

A special thanks to the many Builders Association members who donated their time and talents to this year’s event:


Dan Terreri, Daniel A. Terreri & Sons 

Jim Santini, Jim Santini Builder, Inc.

Chris White, Boak & Sons, Inc.

Craig Fauvie, ms consultants, inc.

Team Mentors:

Jason Gibson, Jack Gibson Construction Company 

Jim Bayer, DeSalvo Construction Company, Inc.

Ryan Hively, Hively Construction Company

Subcontractor Mentors:

Ed Stevens, Stevens Masonry Construction, Inc.

Chris White, Boak & Sons, Inc.

Joe DeSalvo, DeSalvo Construction Co., Inc.

Kyle Leonard, Imperial Glazing Concepts, Inc.

Tom Elliot, International Masonry Institute

Craig Fauvie, ms consultants, inc.

History: Each year, The Builders awards scholarships to YSU students who are studying for a career in construction. At the 2008 award ceremony, scholarship recipients expressed a desire to work on an actual building project, and The Builders created the event in response to the request. It was held this year, as in previous years, in YSU’s Moser Hall, Room 2400.

For a photo album of the event, check out our Facebook page!