The Builders Awards Scholarships to Five YSU Construction Students

Youngstown, Ohio, December 14, 2017 – For the last 45 years, the Builders Association has awarded a total of nearly $175K in scholarships to collegiate men and women studying to become construction professionals in our region.

The Builders continued that tradition this year by awarding another round of scholarships to five Youngstown State University students, all of whom are enrolled in YSU’s Civil and Construction Engineering Technology Program. The 2017 scholarship recipients are:

  • Nathaniel Thomas, a freshman
  • Avery Larkin, a sophomore
  • Mark Metzger, a junior
  • Haleigh Combs, a junior
  • Gage Michael, a senior

The students were awarded their scholarships at The Builders’ annual meeting. A special Scholarship Committee consisting of Chairman Paul Johnson, President of Adolph Johnson & Son; Jeff Mason of Youngstown Tile & Terrazzo; and Jeff Donatelli of Donatelli Electric reviewed applications and recommended this year’s honorees.