The Builders Awards Eight Scholarships to YSU Construction Students

Eight Youngstown State University students were awarded scholarships last evening from The Builders Association of Eastern Ohio and Western Pennsylvania (The Builders) at the Association’s Annual Meeting.

The Builders has awarded scholarships to YSU students since 1971, selecting deserving students each year who demonstrate that they are excelling in the school’s Civil & Construction Engineering Technology program. Including this year’s group of recipients, The Builders has awarded $132,210.

Students awarded $1,000 scholarships each for 2012 are:

  • Michael Squibbs, a freshman from Berlin Center, Ohio
  • Ricky Root, a sophomore from New Middletown, Ohio
  • Aaron Cessna, a sophomore from Boardman, Ohio
  • Andre Silvers, a junior from Boardman, Ohio
  • Stuart Duchek, a junior from Poland, Ohio
  • Scott Kreefer, a junior from East Liverpool, Ohio
  • Corey Griffith, a senior from Summitville, Ohio
  • Zachary Barkley, a senior from Salem, Ohio

“These young men are actively demonstrating their abilities via their excellent school performance, and they show great potential to become successful members of the local construction community” said Kevin Reilly, Executive Vice President of The Builders, “The Association is happy to support their efforts and we wish them well in their endeavors.”

Making the awards at The Builder’s Annual Meeting was Scholarship Committee Chairman Paul Johnson, President of Adolph Johnson & Son. Additional members of the committee are Joe DeSalvo, Executive Vice-President of DeSalvo Construction Company, and Ed Stevens, President of Stevens Masonry.